Request Reconsideration

Reconsideration Overview

How to request Reconsideration from the State of Alaska for Earthquake Assistance
Very important. State assistance programs are not designed or funded to make people “whole” after a disaster. The Alaska Disaster Assistance program provides funding for essential repairs or serious needs for living areas of primary residences. Minor damage and cosmetic issues are generally not eligible. For those with major damages or destroyed homes the financial assistance will be far short of actual needs. For reconsideration, complete the following steps:

  1. Complete Alaska Individual Assistance Application on file with the State
  2. Complete the FEMA disaster application at or 1-800-621-3362
  3. Complete the FEMA Disaster Assistance process including appeals and receive a final determination notification from FEMA
  4. Complete a disaster loan application with the Small Business Administration (SBA) and accept the full benefit SBA offers. If you have a remaining essential needs of personal property or home repair, continue with your reconsideration process
  5. Go to, click on Disaster Assistance 2018 Cook Inlet Earthquake banner. Go to the State Individual Assistance block and click on the Reconsideration button and complete the questionnaire. Be prepared to provide the following information, (there is a button to attach documents):
    1. FEMA registration number
    2. Full amount of assistance you received from FEMA
    3. SBA loan decision letter (copy)
    4. Full amount of assistance you received from the SBA
    5. Documentation supporting your remaining essential needs (professional estimates, receipts, invoices etc.)
  6. Click the submit button and you will get a confirmation number and be contacted by a case manager. You can follow up by calling 855-445-7131 9am-4pm M-F.

Need to File for Reconsideration?