2018 Spring Preparedness Conference


The Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHS&EM) cordially invites you to attend our Spring Preparedness Conference April 10-13 at the Hilton Hotel, located at 500 W. 3rd Ave, Anchorage, AK.

This year’s conference will feature three different tracks.

  • Track 1 focuses on Alaska Shield
  • Track 2 focuses on Functional and Access Needs
  • Track 3 focuses on Emergency Management

Plenary Speakers include:

  • Erin Curran, Deputy Chief of Staff for Boston Emergency Medical Services
  • Vance Taylor, Chief, Office of Access and Functional Needs, California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services
  • Marcus Coleman, DHS Center for Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships, A Center for the White House Office of Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships



The registration deadline:
February 9th - DHE&EM funded attendees

The Division will provide funding for (1) LEPC and (1) EMPG representative to attend the conference. Registration for funded travel is by invitation only.

March 26th - non-funded attendees

If you have difficulties with online registration please contact:
Michelle Torres at (907) 428-7032 or email: michelle.torres@alaska.gov
Kelly Isham at (907) 428-7078 or email: kelly.isham@alaska.gov

SERC and LEPCA meetings will be held on Friday – April 13, 2018.

You are encouraged to attend the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) and State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) bi-annual meeting on Friday April 13, 2018. The LEPC meeting will be from 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and the SERC meeting will be held from 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m. at the Hilton Hotel, 500 W. 3rd Ave, Anchorage.

The LEPC Meeting brings together the leaders of Alaska’s 21 LEPCs to discuss a variety of projects handled by the state, and by the LEPC Association. Reports are given by DHS&EM staffers, LEPC leaders and SERC subcommittee leaders; public comments are accepted. Subject matter experts from local, state and federal agencies and vendors are invited to provide brief presentations on new initiatives designed to strengthen the state’s readiness for disasters. The composition of the SERC was established by statute (AS 26.23.071). The members of the SERC are nine specified Alaska state departmental commissioners (DCCED, DEC, ADF&G, DHSS, DOL (Labor), DNR, DPS, DOT&PF, and DMVA) or their designees, and seven members of the public appointed by the governor.


For general Preparedness Conference questions, please contact
Michelle Torres, (907) 428-7032
For travel/funding, or logistics/administrative questions, please contact
Kelly Isham, (907) 428-7078
For LEPC/EMPG questions and information, please contact
Kelly Isham, (907) 428-7078