Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC)

There are 21 Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPCs) in the State of Alaska. The boundaries of each LEPC are called a Local Emergency Planning District (LEPD). The LEPD boundaries are determined by the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC). Alaska Statute 26.23.071 establishes the Alaska SERC and LEPCs, and specifies their duties.

In other states, it is common practice for a SERC to use county or borough boundaries as LEPD boundaries. While Alaska has nineteen boroughs, a great deal of land within the state is not within a borough. Because of this, the Alaska SERC normally uses the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development (DCCED) Rural Education Attendance Area (REAA) map boundaries to determine LEPD boundaries as the REAA covers the whole state. A less cluttered map that shows LEPDs is provided by DHS&EM.

LEPC members are volunteers and government employees who live within a specific LEPD. Federal law states that, at a minimum, each LEPC shall include representatives from the following groups: elected officials, law enforcement, civil defense, firefighting, first aid, health, local environmental, hospital, transportation personnel, broadcast and print media, community groups, and owners/operators of facilities subject to regulation by SARA Title III. Detailed information regarding the composition, duties, and responsibilities of an LEPC can be found in Chapter 8 of the book "SARA Title III, Intent and Implementation of Hazardous Materials Regulations."

Questions regarding emergency planning or hazardous materials reporting within a specific community should be referred to your LEPC if available. If no LEPC exists in your area contact the SERC Coordinator Kevin Reeve at 907-428-7019.

Questions regarding the SERC or State management of LEPCs should also be referred to the appropriate Coordinator.

LEPC Links

LEPC Forms