SERC All Hazards Plan Review Committee

The Committe shall:

  1. Review the following types of emergency operations plans (EOP) and make recommendations to the SERC regarding them.
    1. State, interjurisdictional and local plans prepared under AS 26.23.
    2. State and regional plans prepared under AS 46.04.200-210.
    3. Plans prepared by State agencies under other authorities.
    4. Integrated or combined State/Federal emergency operations plans.
  2. Review these plans to determine consistency with one another and with the criteria listed in SARA Title III (Section 303(c); AS 26.23.075; AS 26.23.077; AS 46.04.200; AS 46.04.210; the National Contingency Plan (NCP); the Federal Response Plan (FRP); and other criteria as may be adopted by this committee.
  3. Where appropriate, recommend changes to the State EOP that would improve the State’s ability to prevent and minimize the injury and damage that could result from naturally occurring or manmade disasters.
  4. Develop an emergency operation plan review process for the SERC.
  5. Review the State’s model community emergency response plan, as developed by DHS&EM, and make recommendations to the SERC.
  6. Review the results of exercises and response operations, assess the adequacy of plans and resources, and make recommendations to the SERC.
  7. Review other emergency operations planning issues, as requested by the SERC Co-chairs, and report findings and recommendations to the SERC.

Committee Composition

The Committee shall consist of one representative each from the State Departments of Military and Veterans Affairs (Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management); Environmental Conservation; Health and Social Services; Natural Resources; Transportation and Public Facilities; Public Safety; and the Federal Emergency Management Agency. To the extent practicable, the Committee shall be composed of individuals knowledgeable in emergency management matters.

Committee Members

Richard Hildreth (Chair)
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
P.O. Box 5750
Ft. Richardson, AK 99505-5750
Phone: (907) 428-7047
Fax: (907) 428-7009

Megan Kohler
Environmental Program Specialist III
Division of Spill Prevention and Response
Department of Environmental Conservation
555 Cordova St
Anchorage AK 99501
Phone: (907) 269-4198

Kevin P. Spillers
OEM Director
1305 E. Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 343-1406
Fax: (907) 343-1411

KT Pyne
Forester IV
Department of Natural Resources
Division of Forestry
3700 Airport Way
Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone: (907) 356-5858

Andy Jones
Emergency Program Manager
Department of Health & Social Services
Public Health Preparedness
3601 C Street, Suite 760
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: ( 907) 334-2593
Fax: (907) 269-2048

Paul Valley
Federal Emergency Management Agency
222 West 7th Ave, Box 29
Anchorage, AK 99513
Phone: (907) 271-4303
Fax: (907) 271-4315

Edward (Ted) Smith
Community Health Service Division
Emergency Management Consultant
3900 Ambassador Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone: (907) 729-4427
Cell: (907) 726.7470

Cameron Carlson
University of Alaska
910 Yukon Drive
Butrovich Suite 106
Fairbanks, AK 99775-5240
Phone: (907) 450-8159
Fax: (907) 450-8151

Paul Fussey
Statewide Search and Rescue Coordinator
Alaska State Troopers
Department of Public Safety
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
Phone: (907) 754-3453
Fax: (907) 269-5033

Mr. Bill Zagrocki
Alaska Command
Office: (907) 552-7787

Eric Bleakney (DAFC)
Interagency Coordinator
Office (907) 552-3268